Vote of Thanks

Yesterday I was conscripted to deliver the  vote of thanks at a function memorialising my late father. Having been listening to Yasin Qadhi on the tafseer of Sura al-Kahf, and the theme of the Men and the two Gardens, (I tried to insert link to Qadhi here but crashed) it was uppermost in my mind that a major wrong committed by us (probably out of an overabundance of politeness) was our thanking persons without recognition that all emanates from Allah swt and that first and foremost thanks should be given to Him. With that in mind, my task was a simple one – to thank Allah swt for affording us the opportunities to do good deeds and the abilities to make the choices to do good over any other task. So no one else’s name was called (thereby ensuring no one was forgotten).

I ended with a Qur’anic dua:

“Sura alQaaf, Ayah 15

My Lord, grant me the power and ability that I may be grateful for your favours which you have bestowed on me and my parents and that I may do righteous good deeds that will please you and admit me by Your mercy among Your righteous slaves”

One thought on “Vote of Thanks…

  1. Congrats ,job well done , your mom was very proud of you all . Continue to make her heart glad

    On Monday, June 16, 2014, wannabedeenbuddy wrote: > fivesc posted: “Vote of ThanksYesterday I was conscripted to deliver the vote of thanks at a function memorialising my late father. Having been listening to Yasin Qadhi on the tafseer of Sura al-Kahf, and the theme of the Men and the two Gardens, (I tried to insert link” >

Leave a Reply

